May 28, 2024

KPU Determines Eight Political Parties to Pass Parliament

The General Election Commission (KPU) has determined that eight political parties will qualify for parliament. These parties include the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDIP), the Golongan Karya Party (Golkar), the Greater Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra), the National Awakening Party (PKB), the National Democratic Party (NasDem), the Prosperous Justice Party (PKS), the Democratic Party, and the National Mandate Party (PAN). According to the Election Law, parties are entitled to get seats in the DPR because their vote share exceeds the parliamentary threshold (PT), or the parliamentary threshold of four percent.

“To determine the results of the election for members of the People’s Representative Council (DPR) nationally based on minutes number 218/PL.01.08.-BA/05/2024 in the 2024 Election,” said KPU Chairman Hasyim Asy’ari when reading out the final results of the national recapitulation at the KPU Building, Jakarta (20/3).

Hasyim detailed the valid votes obtained by political parties participating in the election in 84 electoral districts (dapil). PDIP became the winning party in the election with 25,387,279 (16.7%) votes, followed by the Golkar party with 23,208,654 (15.3%) votes and Gerindra with 20,071,708 (13.2%) votes. Other parties that won seats in parliament were PKB with 16,115,655 (10.6%) votes, NasDem 14,660,516 (9.6%), PKS 12,781,353 (8.4%), Democrat 11,283,160 (7.4%), and PAN received 10,984,003 votes (7.2%).

The KPU recorded that the valid votes for the 2024 legislative election (pileg) nationally were 151,796,631 votes. The national-level recapitulation is the vote tally in 38 provinces and 128 overseas territories counted from February 15 to March 20, 2024.

Meanwhile the political parties that did not pass the parliamentary threshold were the United Development Party (PPP) with 5,878,777 votes (3.87%), the Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI) with 4,260,169 (2.81%), the United Party Indonesia (Perindo) with 1,955,154 (1.29%) votes, the Indonesian People’s Wave Party (Gelora) got 1,281,991 (0.84%), the People’s Conscience Party (Hanura) 1,094,588 (0.72%) , the Labor Party with 972,910 (0.64%) votes, followed by the Ummat Party with 642,545 (0.42%), the Crescent Star Party (PBB) 484,486 (0.32%), the Indonesian Guard for Change (Garuda) Party with 406,883 (0 .27%), and the Nusantara Awakening Party (PKN) received the lowest votes with 326,800 (0.22%) votes.

Based on Constitutional Court Regulation (PMK) No. 5/2023, parties who wish to file a legislative General Election Results Dispute (PHPU) application can submit a lawsuit to the Constitutional Court no later than 3×24 hours or (three) days after the KPU determines the election results. Then the completion of the Legislative PHPU must be completed within 30 days. []