May 29, 2024

KPU Determines Prabowo-Gibran as Winners of the Presidential Election

The General Election Commission (KPU) determined pair number 02, Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka, as the winner of the 2024 presidential election (Pilpres). Based on the recapitulation results of the 2024 election vote count, Prabowo-Gibran won 96,214,691 votes, or 58.83 percent. The recapitulation includes vote acquisition in 38 provinces in Indonesia and 128 overseas regions.

“To determine the results of the general election for president and vice president based on minutes number 218/PL.01.08.-BA/05/2024 in the 2024 General Election,” said the Chairman of the KPU, Hasyim Asy’ari, after completing the recapitulation of the national level vote results at the office. KPU, Central Jakarta (20/3).

The KPU determined that the number of valid votes for candidate number 1, Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar, was 40,971,906 votes. Pair number 2 Prabowo Subianto-Gibran Rakabuming Raka has 96,214,691 votes. Meanwhile, the number of valid votes for candidate number 3, Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD, was 27,040,878 votes.

“This decision will come into effect on the stipulated date, set in Jakarta on March 20, 2024,” said Hasyim.

For information, Prabowo-Gibran excelled in 36 provinces out of 38 provinces, and the pair Anies Baswedan-Muhaimin Iskandar excelled in two provinces, namely, West Sumatra and Aceh. Meanwhile, the Ganjar Pranowo-Mahfud MD pair lost in all provinces.

Based on the provisions of the Election Law, presidential and vice presidential candidate pairs are permitted to challenge the results of the presidential election to the Constitutional Court (MK) no later than three (three) days after the recapitulation results are determined by the KPU. Furthermore, the Constitutional Court has 14 working days to resolve the dispute over the General Election Results Dispute (PHPU) for the presidential election, starting from the time the case is recorded in the Constitutional Case Registration Book (e-BRPK). []